Eine Alpensinfonie and Symphonia Domestica in Full Score (Paperback)

Eine Alpensinfonie and Symphonia Domestica in Full Score By Richard Strauss Cover Image
Not on hand. Usually Ships in 2-5 Days


Two symphonic masterworks employing vast orchestras, one powerfully portraying a day in the mountains, the other Strauss's day-to-day life at home with his wife, Pauline. Eine Alpensinfonie (1911-15) is nature painting on a grand scale, a magnificent showcase for Strauss's gifts for sumptuous orchestration. The Symphonia Domestica (1902-3), despite its broad instrumentation, has more of the intimate feel of a chamber work. The full orchestral scores of both are reprinted here in one inexpensive volume from authoritative German editions.

About the Author

A leading composer of the late Romantic and early modern eras, Richard Strauss (1864-1949) is known for his operas (Der Rosenkavalier and Salome), Lieder, tone poems, and orchestral works.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780486277257
ISBN-10: 0486277259
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: October 22nd, 2009
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Dover Music Scores